Sône Town Hall
Sône Town Hall
Department of Isere
Museum Overview
A fortified building from the 12th century, currently transformed into 2 exhibition rooms containing objects that summarize the history of the town.
2 superimposed rooms connected by a staircase in the walls of the Tower. This tower, probably built in the 15th century, which was certainly much higher, was part of the enclosure of the feudal castle, it has undergone numerous modifications over the centuries. It was in fact leveled in the XNUMXth century by Guillaume Durivail, who removed the loopholes to make windows.
Between 1750 and 1850, it was converted into a silkworm farm, and a fireplace was installed to provide heating so the silkworms wouldn't die from the cold. It's also worth noting that in the Middle Ages, it served as an observation post to warn of invasions that might have advanced along the Isère Valley. From its upper level, there is a direct view of the Château de la Sône, the Château de Beauvoir, the fortified house of Saint-André-en-Royans, and the Château de Rochechinard. It boasts two very interesting architectural features: the first is the staircase built into the thickness of the wall, which has retained its original paving and wooden nosings. The second is a remarkable sundial formed by six corbelled stones in its southern corner, which, thanks to the interplay of sunlight and shadows, allow one to tell the time. It is currently housed in a small museum.
Public : Special family with children
Comfort and amenities
Accessibility
Rates / opening
Prices
Free.
Opening
Sunday September 20, 2026 from 10 a.m. to 12 a.m. and from 14 p.m. to 17 p.m.


