Undoubtedly installed shortly after the revolution in the old fortified house of the Sassenage, the mill located on the Place de la Halle turned, thanks to a fishing wheel, a factory to beat, card and spin the wool. The wheel was swept away during the 1851 flood. In 1858, the building became a woodturning center for an emigrant from the Jura: Claude Mary MAYET. Flourishing, it employed up to 48 people before moving to Saint-Eulalie-en-Royans in 1902. The building, where production was stored, caught fire in 1912. Bombed in 1944, the building was razed. Today, the media library and the contemporary art space which is aptly named La Halle are
located in a room of the old mill.
Western gateway to the Vercors Regional Natural Park and located at the start of the Bourne gorges, this medieval village is characterized by a unique architecture in the Dauphiné: houses suspended with colored facades above the void. The site, listed as a historical monument since 1944, had impressed Stendhal. Ramparts, alleys, terraced gardens, bridge, reinforce the cultural richness of the town. The pedestrian ascent to the old feudal tower of the "Three Castles" will allow you to benefit from a wide panorama on the territory of Royans.
The water museum testifies to the hydroelectric heritage of the village. Indeed, the building once housed a convent, which became a priory which passed to the Order of Saint Anthony in 1289. When the Order merged with the Order of Malta in 1780, it reverted to the latter. Subsequently, the place is transformed into a factory, a silk factory. Buildings expand during this period. The silk factory operated until 1918. The General Electricity Company moved into the same premises until the 1990s, then the water museum opened its doors in 2002. Today, an electricity company manufacturing sockets and switches is located not far from the museum and about forty employees work there, it is the Legrand company.